Scientists have discovered a new biomarker in mesothelioma

An international team of researchers has discovered that protein HMGB1 is a critical component of the pathogenesis of malignant mesothelioma, one of the most dangerous forms of cancer, is closely related to exposure to asbestos and eriositis on the body.

As demonstrated by the new work of scientists led by experts from the University of Hawaii, a protein HMGB1 plays a crucial role in the development of malignant mesothelioma. The study examines in detail the process that causes the growth of mesothelioma, and gives scientists the opportunity to develop targeted treatments for this disease. The results were published in the July issue of the journal Cancer Research.

Mesothelioma is an aggressive cancer that is usually diagnosed at later stages, and which is difficult to treat is served. Average survival after diagnosis is less than a year. About 5% of patients diagnosed with early stages of the disease, live 5-10 years or more. Opening of a new biomarker may be useful for earlier detection of disease, as well as to develop effective strategies to prevent and combat this type of cancer.

Center for Cancer Research at the University of Hawaii is a world leader in the study of mesothelioma. Center scientists involved in scientific work, which resulted in the discovery of the gene that causes mesothelioma (BAP1).

Mesothelioma associated with occupational and environmental exposure to asbestos. Eriositis – a natural mineral fiber that can cause the development of mesothelioma. In the U.S., about 3,000 diagnosed cases each year.

http://medstrana.com/news/4188/

Leave a Reply

Ученые открыли новый биомаркер мезотелиомы

Международная команда исследователей обнаружила, что белок HMGB1 является важнейшей составляющей патогенеза злокачественной мезотелиомы, одной из самых опасных форм рака, тесно связанной с воздействием асбеста и эриоцита на организм.

Как показала новая работа ученых под руководством экспертов из университета Гавайев, белок HMGB1 играет решающую роль в развитии злокачественной мезотелиомы. Исследование подробно рассматривает процесс, вызывающий рост мезотелиомы, и дает ученым возможность разработать целенаправленные методы лечения этого заболевания. Результаты работы были опубликованы в июльском выпуске журнала Cancer Research.

Мезотелиома является агрессивным раковым заболеванием, которое, как правило, диагностируют на поздних стадиях, и которое с трудом подается лечению. Средняя выживаемость больных после постановки диагноза составляет не более года. Около 5% пациентов, получивших диагноз на ранних стадиях развития болезни, живут 5-10 лет и больше. Открытие нового биомаркера может пригодиться для более раннего обнаружения заболевания, а также для создания эффективных стратегий профилактики и борьбы с этим видом рака.

Центр раковых исследований в университете Гавайев является мировым лидером в изучении мезотелиомы. Ученые центра принимали участие в научной работе, результатом которой стало обнаружение гена, вызывающего мезотелиому (BAP1).

Мезотелиому связывают с производственным и экологическим воздействием асбеста. Эриоцит — это естественные минеральные волокна, которые также могут стать причиной развития мезотелиомы. В США диагностируют примерно 3000 случаев заболевания ежегодно.

http://medstrana.com/news/4188/

Добавить комментарий