Limitation powers

http://www.thoracicsurgerynews.com/issues/april-2012/single-article/survey-many-surgeons-wary-of-advance-directives/4db0f511abd9f60d985fece57f2cf9c2.html

Nearly half of U.S. surgeons who routinely perform high-risk operations do not regularly ask patients about their advance directives – also known as living wills – before proceeding with a high-risk procedure, results of a survey indicate. Perhaps more importantly, more than half of survey respondents said they would not operate if they were aware of a restrictive directive.

The findings, published online and in Annals of Surgery, were derived from a survey mailed to 2,100 randomly selected vascular, neurological, and cardiothoracic surgeons in 2010. Of these, 912 eligible responses were entered into analysis, with the three types of surgeons responding at about the same rate: 56% for vascular surgeons and neurosurgeons and 54% for cardiothoracic surgeons (Ann. Surg. 2012;255:418-23).

A majority of respondents (81%) however, reported having conversations about patients’ preferences for limiting the use of life-sustaining procedures postoperatively. The surgeons said they tend to view factors such as a patient’s predicted postoperative quality of life, age, comorbidities, and mental readiness as vastly more important in determining whether to operate than the existence of an advance directive, which 48% said they do not routinely confirm, according to the study’s authors, led by Dr. Margaret L. Schwarze of the University of Wisconsin, Madison.

Because most information about advance directives and the surgical decision-making process thus far has been anecdotal, she and her colleagues investigated how conversations about formal directives actually proceed in a surgical setting and their role in decision making.

A total of 54% of all surgeons who responded said that they would not operate if they knew a patient had an advance directive that might limit the postoperative options.

Among cardiothoracic surgeons, who routinely rely on ventilator support as part of postoperative care, 63% said they would not operate with prior knowledge of a restrictive advance directive. Multivariate analysis showed that cardiac surgeons were almost twice as likely to operate compared with their neurosurgeon counterparts (odds ratio, 1.96) and somewhat more likely than were vascular surgeons (OR, 1.35).

Younger surgeons – those with 20 or less years of experience – were less likely to discuss advance directives regularly (44%) than were those with more than 20 years of experience (69%).

Several of the survey results strongly suggest that surgeons view advance directives as "an impediment to the goals of surgical therapy" and that they interpret them as "a signal that patients with advance directives are not truly committed to the operation and the invasive postoperative therapy the operation necessarily entails," wrote the investigators. Furthermore, surgeons "often find it difficult to shift goals when surgery does not go as planned – the result of a surgical ethos which discourages moving from a curative model to a palliative mode of care."

Dr. Schwarze and her colleagues noted that their findings raise the question of whether it is ethical for surgeons to deny a patient a procedure because of a restrictive advance directive. While it may be reasonable for surgeons to want every postoperative resource available to them, they said, advance directives nonetheless protect patient autonomy in the event of a devastating complication.

However, directives are not generally designed with high-risk surgical procedures in mind, they may be vague, and they potentially can create confusion in a postoperative context. Thus, the investigators concluded that communication prior to surgery is urgently needed to "clarify patient preferences with respect to the surgical endeavor and the patient’s advance directive," and that such communication should be documented.

The investigators noted that, as with all surveys, the potential for nonresponse bias was a limitation of their study. More importantly, they stated that it was difficult to know whether the results were generalizable to other surgical subspecialties that performed high-risk surgery.

Dr. Schwarze’s research was funded under a grant from the department of surgery at the University of Wisconsin. Mr. Andrew J. Redman was supported by a grant from the University of Wisconsin, and Dr. Caleb G. Alexander received funding from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Leave a Reply

Ограничение полномочий

Как показывают результаты, опроса почти половина американских хирургов, которые обычно выполняют операции, имеющие высокий риск, не регулярно заранее спрашивают пациентов об их пожеланиях относительно полномочий врача — также известных как директива волеизъявления — прежде чем приступить к процедурам, связанным с определенным риском. Возможно, более половины опрошенных врачей заявили бы, что не будут работать, если бы они знали об ограничениях в своих полномочиях в дальнейшем уходе за больным или в случае послеоперационных осложнений.

Выводы, опубликованные в Интернете и в «Анналах хирургии», были получены согласно почтового опроса, проводимого среди 2100 случайно выбранных сосудистых, нейро — и кардиохирургов в 2010 году. Из них, 912 респондентов, разделенных на три группы хирургов, приняло участие в опросе: 56% составили сосудистые хирурги и нейрохирурги и 44% — кардиохирурги              (Ann. Surg 2012 года; 255:418-23).

Большинство респондентов (81%), сообщили о проводимых ими беседах с пациентами об ограничениях врача относительно использования процедур для жизнеобеспечения больного после операции. Хирурги отметили, что они склонны рассматривать такие факторы в планировании послеоперационных последствий, как качество жизни, возраст, сопутствующие заболевания и психическая готовность к проведению операции. Данные показатели имеют значительно более важную роль в определении того, чтобы работать, и согласно мнения авторов исследования, во главе с д-р Маргарет Л. Шварц из университета Висконсина, Мэдисон, это гораздо важнее, чем существование заранее оговоренной директивы, которую, как заявили 48% опрашиваемых, они обычно не обсуждают.

Поскольку большая часть информации о предварительном обсуждении директивы пациента и принятие решений во время хирургического процесса до сих пор была анекдотической, д-р Маргарет Л. Шварц и ее коллеги исследовали, как разговоры о формальных ограничениях полномочий врача на самом деле протекают во время хирургических вмешательств и их роль в принятии решений.

В общей сложности 54% всех хирургов, которые приняли участие в опросе, сказали, что они не будут работать, если они заранее осведомлены об определенных пожеланиях пациента, которые могут ограничить вариативность  послеоперационного ухода.

Среди кардиохирургов, которые обычно используют ИВЛ в рамках послеоперационной терапии, 63% заявили, что не будут работать, согласно директивы, ограничивающей их возможности. Многофакторный анализ показал, что кардиохирурги почти в два раза чаще оперируют по сравнению с их коллегами нейрохирургами (отношение шансов 1,96) и несколько чаще, чем сосудистые хирурги (ОР 1.35).

Более молодые хирурги — с опытом 20 или менее лет работы — были менее склонны регулярно обсуждать заранее директиву волеизъявления пациента (44%), чем те, что имеют опыт более 20 лет (69%).

Некоторые результаты исследования убедительно свидетельствуют, о том, что хирурги рассматривают предварительные ограничения в своей работе, как «препятствие на пути к цели хирургического лечения». Также они интерпретируют их как «сигнал, что у пациентов, оформивших директиву, ограничивающую полномочия врача, на самом деле не совершенные операции, что неизбежно повлечет за собой проведение инвазивных операций в послеоперационном периоде», пишут исследователи. Кроме того, хирургам часто трудно определить цели, когда операция проходит не так, как планировалось — в результате нравственные устои хирургического сообщества препятствуют переходу от лечебной модель ухода к модели паллиативного ухода».

            Доктор Шварц и его коллеги отметили, что их результаты ставят вопрос о том, насколько этично для хирургов отказать пациенту в проведении той или иной процедуры из-за заранее указанных в директиве ограничений в тактике и методах послеоперационного ухода. Хоть это и разумно для хирургов иметь доступ к любому ресурсу и методу для послеоперационного ухода, однако, тем не менее, обсуждение требований и пожеланий пациента заранее защитить право пациента на самостоятельное принятие решений в случае тяжелых осложнений.

Тем не менее, условия ограничения полномочий врача при оперативном вмешательстве, имеющем высокий риск возникновения послеоперационных осложнений, на данный момент не разработаны вообще, в виду того, что они могут быть расплывчатыми, и потенциально могут создать путаницу в послеоперационном контексте. Таким образом, исследователи пришли к выводу, что обсуждение директивы пациента с врачом до операции необходимо в срочном порядке для «уточнения предпочтений пациента по отношению к хирургической деятельности и предварительных указаний пациента». Сообщения такого рода должны быть задокументированы.

По материалам сайта: http://www.thoracicsurgerynews.com/issues/april-2012/single-article/survey-many-surgeons-wary-of-advance-directives/4db0f511abd9f60d985fece57f2cf9c2.html

Перевод: Ольга Павлова

Добавить комментарий