The spread of cancer in real time – a unique technology

An innovative approach has enabled scientists to detect free cancer cells in the bloodstream of patients with prostate cancer, breast cancer and pancreatic cancer that was previously unattainable. This gives hope to control the spread of cancer in real time, as well as learn how to prevent the development of resistance of the tumor.

In an article published in the latest issue of the journal established by IOP Publishing «Physical Biology», the authors describe innovative software that allows you to simultaneously handle the huge amount of data and detect in the blood whether there are rare tumor cells among millions of healthy people. Thus, it is possible not only with unprecedented accuracy and efficiency of detection of tumor cells, but also to monitor their movement from one tissue to other organs.

Billings Clinic oncologist and lead author Dr. Jorge Nieva commented the results: "Our technology will allow scientists to get away from the mice and cell cultures, and to send agents to their immediate objective, not allowing tumor cells to develop resistance."

"In the future, the developed method of liquid biopsy may change the approach to cancer treatment. Being close to the disease in real time, we will be able to make correct and timely decisions, including diagnosis, treatment options, and predictive analysis of the disease "- adds senior author of the technology, Professor Peter Kuhn.

Researchers from the Cancer Center at Scripps College, La Jolla (California) using a new technology were able to detect up to five times more cancer cells per milliliter of blood in 80% of 20 patients with prostate cancer, 70% of 30 patients with breast cancer and 50% of the 18 patients with pancreatic cancer.

The new technology is based on the fact that the fluorescent coloring agent added antibodies that “detect” proteins produced by cancer cells, and are attached to them, allowing you to effectively analyze the promotion and development of cancer cells. "Thus, we get a detailed portrait of harmful cells caught in the dissemination of the body. Never before we could not even dream about it "- says an expert on diagnostics, the leading researcher of the team Kuhn, Kelly Bethel.

http://medstrana.com/news/3741/#onkology-hematolojy/

Leave a Reply

Распространение рака в реальном времени – уникальная технология

Инновационный подход позволил ученым обнаружить свободные раковые клетки в кровотоке пациентов с раком простаты, раком молочной и поджелудочной железы, что ранее было недостижимо. Это дает надежду контролировать распространение рака в реальном времени, а также научиться предупреждать развитие резистентности опухоли.

В статье, опубликованной в последнем выпуске журнала издательства IOP Publishing «Physical Biology», авторы описывают инновационное программное обеспечение, которое позволяет одномоментно обрабатывать огромное количество данных и обнаруживать в кровотоке редкие раковые клетки среди миллионов здоровых. Таким образом, можно не только с невиданной точностью и эффективностью обнаруживать клетки опухоли, но и проследить их движение от тканей одних органов к другим.

Онколог клиники Биллингса и ведущий автор исследования доктор Хорхе Ниева (Jorge Nieva) так прокомментировал его результаты: «Наша технология позволит ученым уйти от мышей и клеточных культур и направить препараты к их непосредственной цели, не дав клеткам опухоли выработать резистентность».

«В будущем разработанный нами метод жидкостной биопсии может изменить подход к лечению рака. Подобравшись к болезни в реальном времени, мы сможем принимать правильные и своевременные решения, включая диагностику, предиктивный выбор терапии и анализ развития болезни», – добавляет старший автор технологии, профессор Петер Кун (Peter Kuhn).

Исследователям из Онкологического центра колледжа Скриппса в Ла Холла (Калифорния) с помощью новой технологии удалось обнаружить в пять раз больше онкологических клеток на миллиметр крови у 80% из 20 пациентов с раком простаты, 70% из 30 пациентов с раком молочной железы и 50% из 18 пациентов с раком поджелудочной железы.

Новая технология основана на том, что в окрашивающее флуоресцентное вещество добавлены антитела, которые «выцеливают» белки, вырабатываемые раковыми клетками, и прикрепляются к ним, что позволяет эффективно анализировать продвижение и развитие онкоклеток. «Таким образом, мы получаем детальный портрет вредоносных клеток, пойманных в процессе распространения по телу. Никогда раньше мы не могли об этом даже мечтать», – говорит специалист по вопросам диагностики, ведущий научный сотрудник команды Куна, Келли Бетел (Kelly Bethel).

http://medstrana.com/news/3741/#onkology-hematolojy/

Добавить комментарий