Analysis of circulating tumor cells in the blood to replace lung biopsy

http://medexpert.org.ua/modules/news/article_storyid_4556.html

Analysis of circulating tumor cells in the blood to replace lung biopsy

Scientists have developed a method for the analysis of circulating tumor cells in blood of patients with small cell lung cancer. This method allows physicians to monitor the development of cancer and help in developing new treatments.

"We have developed a highly sensitive test that can detect mutations present in the circulating tumor cells (CSC), and we hope that knowing these characteristics, we can find the diagnostic and prognostic markers," – said Heidi S. Erickson, assistant professor of oncology of the department of head and neck at the University of Texas.

Although researchers have found that the presence of CSC in the blood of patients with lung cancer is associated with a reduced period of survival, doctors were unable to analyze the evidence of these cells because of their low level.

The scientists used a technique with high throughput of matrix-assisted laser desorption and mass spectrometry for the analysis of single nucleotide polymorphisms. This is a highly sensitive analysis using a mass spectrometer to determine the exact genetic mutations in the DNA of several malignant cells.

Identification of these mutations will allow doctors to monitor the genetic changes and cancer control, as well as the effectiveness of any treatment administered. Also, researchers will be able to determine how cancer develops and may identify new targets of therapy.

The blood test that can replace biopsy make the diagnosis easier and faster.

Leave a Reply

Анализ циркулирующих раковых клеток в крови заменит биопсию легких

Анализ циркулирующих раковых клеток в крови заменит биопсию легких

Ученые разработали метод анализа циркулирующих опухолевых клеток в крови пациентов с немелкоклеточным раком легкого. Этот метод позволить врачам отслеживать развитие рака и поможет в разработке новых методов лечения.

«Мы разработали чрезвычайно чувствительный тест, который может обнаружить мутации, присутствующие в циркулирующих опухолевых клетках (ЦОК), и мы надеемся, что зная их характеристики, мы сможем найти диагностические и прогностические маркеры», — сообщает Хайди С. Эриксон, доцент кафедры онкологии головы и шеи в Университете Техаса.

Хотя исследователи обнаружили, что присутствие ЦОК в крови пациентов с раком легких связано с сокращением периода выживания, врачи не имели возможности проанализировать фактические эти клетки из-за низкого их уровня.

Ученые применили метод с высокой пропускной способностью матрицы-активированной лазерной десорбции и масс-спектрометрии для анализа однонуклеотидных полиморфизмов. Этот чрезвычайно чувствительный анализ с использованием масс-спектрометра позволяет определить точные генетические мутации в ДНК нескольких злокачественных клеток.

Выявление этих мутаций позволит врачам следить за ходом генетических изменений и контролировать рак, а также эффективность любого лечения распоряжается. Также исследователи сумеют определить, каким образом развивается рак и, возможно, определить новые цели терапии.

Анализ крови, способный заменить биопсию, сделает диагностику проще и быстрее.

http://medexpert.org.ua/modules/news/article_storyid_4556.html

Добавить комментарий